Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day to everyone! Today I was privileged to go to church with my family.  At times it can seem like quite a chore to get everyone up and ready for church but it never fails that as soon as I hear the worship music my spirit is renewed and anything that tried to hinder me is put away.  Today our pastor gave a message for all the fathers in the crowd but it wasn’t just for the fathers it was for everyone.  As he put it, being a father takes a team.  Similar to the old saying that it takes a village to raise a child.  As men, even men of God we cannot be good fathers or examples on our own.  It takes those around us helping us and holding us accountable.  I am blessed to have a good support system and a great wife, family and friends that I can lean on.

As I prepare for my trip to Africa I am appreciative for my heavenly father, my father and all the men in my life that have been positive influences.  My heart goes out to those that don’t have a father that they can spend time with or go to with life’s difficult questions.  Psalm 82:3 says: Defend the weak and fatherless; uphold the cause of the poor and oppressed.  On my trip to Africa I will come into contact with widows and orphans and I pray that I can be a light and show them the love and compassion that my heavenly father has shown me.  I am looking forward to spending time with them and I am almost sure that they will probably teach me more than I could ever teach them.

I hope everyone was able to spend their day today exactly how they wanted and with the ones they love.  Thank you for your continued prayers and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

